Archive for October 2, 2011

So, I’ve finished This is an honour song, and I find myself on uncertain footing. It was a pretty intense book. So many raw emotions and experiences that I can’t understand. I can read their words and comprehend their meaning, but I can’t understand their feelings. They talk about life changing experiences, how deeply this one event touched and defined their lives. I don’t have that sort of experience. I have never felt the repression and hatred of being amongst a minority. I had never even heard of the Oka Crisis until this year. I am moved and disturbed by this anthology and the honest writings of these people, but I don’t know what direction to take now.

I can be more aware of government actions and the relationship between it and the First Nations, but what changes can I make myself?