Equality vs Equity

Posted: October 1, 2011 in Pols 1303
Tags:

While browsing the web, I came across this site called ‘Dear Blank Please Blank’, and on it I found this letter:

“Dear world,
equality means you treat everyone equally, not give special treatment to minorities.
Sincerely, anonymous.”

It’s not uncommon to hear people from minority groups demanding equal treatment. But, lo and behold, when they state their ideas on how to make it equal, really all they are doing is giving the minority more advantages to make up for past unfair treatment. Well, here’s a radical thought: according to the Oxford English Dictionary:

Equity: The quality of being equal or fair; fairness, impartiality; even-handed dealing.
Example: When my brother and I used to race as kids, I would also demand a head start because I was younger and smaller. This gave me a more fair chance of winning the race. (I usually lost anyways)

Equality: The condition of being equal in quantity, amount, value, intensity, etc.
Example: At Easter, my siblings and I would divide the chocolate evenly. Everyone would get the same amount.

In short, they aren’t asking for equality, they are asking for equity. Which is the better concept for the world to strive for? And if it is equity, how do we define “fair”?

Leave a comment